Home News Press Room Press Releases FBI Director Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

FBI Director Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders

Washington, D.C. March 16, 2012
  • FBI National Press Office (202) 324-3691

In a ceremony held today at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field offices, have made outstanding contributions to their local communities and demonstrated a commitment to improving the lives of their neighbors. The FBI is grateful for the work each of these individuals and organizations have done on behalf of their communities.

“You are all determined to create a safer world for our children. You are all dedicated to protecting our neighborhoods from crime and violence. Just as important, you are all devoted to upholding the rule of law and defending the freedoms we cherish,” said Director Mueller in commending this year’s award recipients.

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award are:

  • Sam and Linda Palazzole (Albany)
  • Thomas Craig (Albuquerque)
  • Covenant House Alaska (Anchorage)
  • A Future. Not a Past. (Atlanta)
  • Allen “Duffy” Samuels (Baltimore)
  • Patricia A. McCay (Birmingham)
  • Ted Woo (Boston)
  • Joseph M. Tripi (Buffalo)
  • Gang Alternative Principles (Charlotte)
  • Brent A. King (Chicago)
  • Columbus Global Academy (Cincinnati)
  • Jimmy Malone (Cleveland)
  • Dr. Robert L. Kirton (Columbia)
  • William Walsh (Dallas)
  • Allan Wick (Denver)
  • Edward Deeb (Detroit)
  • Gabriella Edwards (El Paso)
  • Hawaii Internet Safety Awards Program (Honolulu)
  • Stephen Gartrell (Houston)
  • 2012 Super Bowl Host Committee (Indianapolis)
  • The Honorable James E. Graves, Jr. (Jackson)
  • Valerie Stanley (Jacksonville)
  • Marvin Szneler (Kansas City)
  • Regal Entertainment Group (Knoxville)
  • Tim Wong (Las Vegas)
  • Kathy Manis Findley (Little Rock)
  • I Have a Dream Foundation (Los Angeles)
  • Norman Mayer (Louisville)
  • Greg Lemon (Memphis)
  • Essie Reed (Miami)
  • Garry Henning (Milwaukee)
  • PACER’s National Bullying Prevention Center (Minneapolis)
  • Bruce L. Brown (Mobile)
  • Dr. Joan Rivitz (Newark)
  • Dr. Steven Perry (New Haven)
  • Herreast Harrison (New Orleans)
  • The Honorable Bruce M. Balter (New York)
  • Robert E. Stephens (Norfolk)
  • Susan Agel (Oklahoma City)
  • Willie Barney (Omaha)
  • Stacy Irving (Philadelphia)
  • Homicide Survivors, Inc. (Phoenix)
  • James Krenn (Pittsburgh)
  • Musse Olol (Portland)
  • Ian M. Danielsen (Richmond)
  • Women Escaping a Violent Environment (Sacramento)
  • Anthony Thompson (St. Louis)
  • Blackfeet Housing Project’s Pikanii Action Team (Salt Lake City)
  • Robert B. Grau (San Antonio)
  • KSWB-TV Fox 5 San Diego (San Diego)
  • Futures Without Violence (San Francisco)
  • Angeline Liang (San Juan)
  • Paul Bascomb (Seattle)
  • Dave Benton (Springfield)
  • Rose Ferlita (Tampa)
  • Hector R. Sealey (Washington Field)
  • Matt Rudder (CJIS)
  • Ken Klein (Office of Public Affairs)

- Related story on today’s ceremony
- Profiles and high resolution images of the 2011 DCLA recipients
- Director’s remarks at awards ceremony