Home News Press Room Press Releases Director Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Director Recognizes Distinguished Community Leaders

Washington, D.C. March 25, 2011
  • FBI National Press Office (202) 324-3691

In a ceremony today at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their local FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“I am honored to recognize today’s recipients for their leadership. They are stewards of their communities. They have given their time and talents to make their neighborhoods better, and they embody the true meaning of citizenship,” said Director Mueller.

Recipients of the 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

  • David Graham (Albany)
  • Susan M. Seligman (Albuquerque)
  • Catholic Social Services (Anchorage)
  • Daniel O. Vargas (Atlanta)
  • Sidney Ford (Baltimore)
  • Peace Valley Foundation, Huntsville Chapter (Birmingham)
  • Patricia Spence (Boston)
  • International Institute of Buffalo, Human Trafficking Victim Services Program (Buffalo)
  • Rachel Braver (Charlotte)
  • Roe Conn (Chicago)
  • Shakila Ahmad (Cincinnati)
  • The Cleveland Rape Crisis Center (Cleveland)
  • James T. McLawhorn, Jr. (Columbia)
  • Christina Yampanis (Dallas)
  • Christian Philip Anschutz (Denver)
  • Reverend Dr. Wendell Anthony (Detroit)
  • Patrick Turley (El Paso)
  • National Guard Youth Challenge Program (Honolulu)
  • Dr. Bernard A. Harris, Jr. (Houston)
  • Robert K. Caudell (Indianapolis)
  • Tanya Carter (Jackson)
  • Bernie de la Rionda (Jacksonville)
  • Polly Brunkhardt (Kansas City)
  • Avon Williams Rollins, Sr. (Knoxville)
  • Martha Deaver (Little Rock)
  • Erin Andrews (Los Angeles)
  • A.J. Fekete (Louisville)
  • Dr. Eli T. Morris, III (Memphis)
  • Alonzo Mourning (Miami)
  • Dr. Mallory O’Brien (Milwaukee)
  • Linda J. Walker (Minneapolis)
  • Team Focus (Mobile)
  • Angela DeLeon (New Haven)
  • Sister Mary Lou Specha (New Orleans)
  • Dr. Jay Findling (New York)
  • Parry Aftab (Newark)
  • Gloria Morales (Norfolk)
  • Mark Elam (Oklahoma City)
  • Eric Idehen (Omaha)
  • Matthew Chea (Philadelphia)
  • Girl Scouts—Arizona Cactus Pine Council Inc. (Phoenix)
  • Michael DeStefano (Pittsburgh)
  • Immigrant and Refugee Community Organization (Portland)
  • The Community Idea Stations (Richmond)
  • Jenny Williamson (Sacramento)
  • Dr. Steven Bander (St. Louis)
  • Dr. Earl Sutherland, Jr. (Salt Lake City)
  • Deborah Knapp (San Antonio)
  • LEAD San Diego (San Diego)
  • Bridge the Gap College Prep (San Francisco)
  • Carlos McCormack (San Juan)
  • “Washington’s Most Wanted” (Seattle)
  • Peter Rankaitis (Springfield)
  • Travis Terrell Gabriel (Tampa)
  • Team Adam, National Center for Missing and Exploited Children (Washington Field)
  • Thomas F. Thomas (CJIS)
  • Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity , Inc. (Office of Public Affairs)
  • Steve Harvey Foundation (Office of Public Affairs)
  • Nova Southeastern University, FBI Safe Online Surfing (Office of Public Affairs)

- Related story on today's ceremony