Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2012 Oklahoma City
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Oklahoma City

2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Oklahoma City
Janet L. Peery

Anchorage field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Oklahoma City Division is pleased to honor Janet L. Peery, chief executive officer of the YWCA Oklahoma City, as a recipient of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award.

During her 15-year tenure at the YWCA Oklahoma City, Mrs. Peery has fostered and developed the YWCA Sexual Assault Nurse Examiner (SANE) program for Oklahoma County, which includes partners from law enforcement, the Department of Justice, and medical and forensic agencies. Through the SANE program, Mrs. Peery has unified social service providers to meet the needs of domestic abuse victims. Mrs. Peery helped establish the agency’s dating violence prevention education program, the Oklahoma County Task Force on the Prevention of Domestic Violence, and domestic violence education groups for women incarcerated in Oklahoma Department of Corrections facilities.

Mrs. Peery serves on many community boards, including the Homeless Alliance board of directors, the Mount St. Mary High School board of trustees, and the Oklahoma Commission on the Status of Women advisory board.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Awards Thumbnail

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony