This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Norfolk Tressa Denise Johnson

Anchorage field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Norfolk Division is pleased to honor Tressa Denise Johnson, a youth and civil rights advocate, as a recipient of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. 

Ms. Johnson, a management analyst for the city of Norfolk and a member of the Virginia Gang Investigators Association, volunteers with after-school programs to raise awareness of bullying in schools, youth violence, juvenile delinquency, and gang activity. Through her membership with the Norfolk FBI Citizens Academy Alumni Association (CAAA) she facilitated a bullying awareness workshop for parents at Old Dominion University that drew more than 200 attendees. A corporation that sponsored the event created 1,000 anti-bullying wristbands, which were distributed to area youth and Norfolk police officers.

In 2012, Ms. Johnson secured a grant from the W.K. Kellogg Foundation as part of its America Healing initiative. Her ensuing workshop, sponsored by the CAAA and the Norfolk FBI, highlights the Norfolk Division’s civil rights program, fosters improved racial relations between communities, and offers citizens a better understanding of law enforcement.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Awards Thumbnail

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony