This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Knoxville Patricia Payne

Anchorage field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Knoxville Division is pleased to honor Patricia Payne, a cyber security advocate and president of the Knoxville InfraGard Member Alliance, as a recipient of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award.

Ms. Payne has consistently provided significant contributions to the FBI Citizens Academy Alumni Association (CAAA) and the FBI’s InfraGard program and regularly educates the East Tennessee community about preventing cyber crime. Ms. Payne is a driving force behind the annual East Tennessee Cyber Security Summit, which is a partnership between the Knoxville FBI, University of Tennessee, Fountainhead College of Technology, Tennessee Valley Authority, and Oak Ridge National Laboratory. More than 400 individuals from academia, government, law enforcement, and private industry attend the summit each year.

Through her involvement with the Knoxville FBI CAAA, Ms. Payne has been instrumental in promoting the FBI’s Safe Online Surfing (SOS) program, which teaches children about cyber safety. She often visits schools and area events to distribute promotional materials about the SOS program.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Awards Thumbnail

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony