Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2012 Kansas City
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Kansas City

2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Kansas City Richard T. Bryant

Anchorage field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Kansas City Division is pleased to honor Richard T. Bryant, an active community leader, as a recipient of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award.

Mr. Bryant is an essential member of the Kansas City FBI Citizens Academy Alumni Association (CAAA) and serves on the local board as well as the national board. Mr. Bryant spearheads all CAAA activities and community events, developing unique ways to promote the association and the FBI. Mr. Bryant nominates individuals to the Citizens Academy that represent all communities, helping the FBI build bridges with members of all races and ethnicities in the Kansas City area.

Mr. Bryant also is a board member of the mayor’s Violent Crime Commission, which recommends innovative programs and solutions to reduce crime. In addition, he is chancellor and president-elect of the Sons of the American Revolution and is a member of multiple charitable organizations. Through his volunteer commitments, Mr. Bryant works with current and retired law enforcement to advance cooperation within the community.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Awards Thumbnail

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony