This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Honolulu Joey Lopez

Anchorage field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Honolulu Division is pleased to honor Joey Lopez, a crime laboratory and forensic science advocate, as a recipient of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award.

Mr. Lopez is a private business owner and president of Friends of the Crime Lab, an organization that was established to address the need for additional funding and training for the Guam Police Department’s crime laboratory. The group works to enhance the delivery and quality of forensic science services, provides equipment and training needs, and seeks funding sources in furtherance of the crime lab. In 2009 and 2011, Mr. Lopez was instrumental in coordinating the Regional Forensic Sciences Symposium, which included participants from throughout Micronesia.

While working as an unpaid volunteer with the Guam Police Department, Mr. Lopez provided logistical support to criminal investigators and coordinated meals when homicide investigations required long work hours. As the current president of the Guam chapter of the FBI Citizens Academy Alumni Association (CAAA), Mr. Lopez works to prepare each new session of the Citizens Academy and diligently coordinates quarterly CAAA luncheons.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Awards Thumbnail

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony