This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Chicago Steve J. Bernas

Anchorage field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Chicago Division is pleased to honor Steve J. Bernas, president and chief executive officer of the Better Business Bureau of Chicago and Northern Illinois, Inc., as a recipient of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) is an 86-year-old consumer protection agency that sets the standard for marketplace trust. Mr. Bernas, a Chicago native who has spent his entire professional career with BBB, took over leadership of the Chicago-area offices in 2006 and has worked to develop relationships with other consumer protection groups, including various law enforcement entities. He and his staff work closely with the FBI, the Illinois Attorney General’s Office, the Federal Trade Commission (FTC), the city of Chicago, and the Chicago Police Department to combat consumer fraud.

Mr. Bernas is also a member of the FTC’s Task Force for Consumer Fraud and serves on the Illinois attorney general’s committees relating to automobile advertising and charitable trusts. He is frequently quoted by print media and is a familiar guest on local television and radio programs addressing consumer issues. In addition, he is a member of the Chicago FBI Citizens Academy Alumni Association, where he serves on the board of directors as the sponsorship coordinator.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Awards Thumbnail

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2012 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony