Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2011 Springfield
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Dave Benton

Springfield field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Springfield Division is pleased to honor Mr. Dave Benton, anchor and reporter for WCIA Channel 3 Television. Mr. Benton is the producer of “Crime Watch,” a segment that has generated community awareness and assisted law enforcement in the apprehension of criminals.

“Crime Watch” is sponsored by Champaign County Crime Stoppers, and the organization’s most wanted criminals are featured for the segment. Tips submitted during just one episode assisted local law enforcement in making an arrest within 60 minutes of the broadcast. The “Crime Watch” segment has been directly responsible for apprehending numerous criminals.

Mr. Benton is a board member of the Champaign County Crime Stoppers, and in 2010 he received the Silver Dome Award from the Illinois Broadcasters Association for Best Public Affairs Program.


High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Award 2011 thumbnail image

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony