This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

San Diego

2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

San Diego
KSWB-TV Fox 5 San Diego

San Diego field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

William Givens accepts the award on behalf of KSWB-TV Fox 5 San Diego.

The San Diego Division is pleased to honor KSWB-TV Fox 5 San Diego for its efforts in helping the FBI fight crime. In 2010, the station debuted “San Diego’s Most Wanted: The FBI Files,” a 15-minute program. A year later, the program expanded to its current 30-minute format. Since the program began broadcasting, 120 suspects profiled on the show have been captured. Seven have been a direct result of tips received from the show.

Fox 5 San Diego is the only station in San Diego to regularly profile criminal fugitives in the community. An anonymous tip line for “San Diego’s Most Wanted” provides law enforcement with information about individuals featured on the program. In addition to FBI cases, the show highlights wanted fugitives from other local, federal, and state law enforcement agencies.

Fox 5 San Diego has demonstrated a commitment to reducing crime in the county by devoting its resources to help law enforcement make arrests.


High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Award 2011 thumbnail image

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony