Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2011 Oklahoma City
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Oklahoma City

2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Oklahoma City
Susan Agel

Oklahoma City field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Oklahoma City Division is pleased to honor Mrs. Susan Agel, president of Positive Tomorrows, a non-profit school for homeless children. Positive Tomorrows has an average enrollment of 30 to 45 students who represent diverse communities. Through her work, Mrs. Agel helps provide homeless children with an education and emotional support through one-on-one mentoring. By focusing on individual students and providing a support network, the staff of Positive Tomorrows aims to equip homeless students with the education and skills needed to transition into public school.

In 2010, the school received accreditation, which means that students who attend Positive Tomorrows may transition into any public school in the United States. When Mrs. Agel took office in 2009, she vowed to attain the accreditation since so many homeless families are transient.

Mrs. Agel’s dedication and commitment to providing a safe learning environment for homeless children is affording these students a chance to break the cycle and become successful adults.


High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Award 2011 thumbnail image

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony