This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

New Haven

2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

New Haven
Dr. Steven Perry

New Haven field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The New Haven Division is pleased to honor Dr. Steven Perry for his commitment to education and helping young people succeed. In 1998, Dr. Perry founded the Connecticut Collegiate Awareness Program, known as ConnCAP, which helps low-income, first-generation high school graduates attend college.

In 2004, the Capital Prep Magnet School was established in one of the lowest-performing school districts in the state. Today, Capital Prep has more than 300 students in grades six through 12 that benefit from a rigorous and robust curriculum and a diverse peer group. The school has been recognized by U.S. News and World Report as one of “Black America’s Solutions to Solving the Education Gap.”

Dr. Perry is an advocate of personal responsibility in all aspects of life. As a motivational speaker, he emphasizes the need to help children realize and reach their full potential. Dr. Perry is a CNN education contributor and an Essence magazine best-selling author.


High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Award 2011 thumbnail image

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony