Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2011 Louisville
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Louisville Norman Mayer

Louisville field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

The Louisville Division is pleased to honor St. Matthews Police Chief Norman Mayer for his dedication and commitment to his community and law enforcement. Throughout his 57-year career, Chief Mayer has been an innovative leader and pioneer in law enforcement.

During his tenure, Chief Mayer established the first school resource officer (SRO) program in Kentucky to help maintain safety in schools. The program became a model for law enforcement agencies and school districts across the country. In Kentucky alone, there are more than 200 SROs.

Chief Mayer was instrumental in creating the St. Matthews Police Department Criminal Investigative Division to conduct in-depth investigations. He also created a special response team, composed of specially trained patrol officers, to respond to active-shooter incidents at schools or in shopping malls. Chief Mayer worked closely with the Louisville FBI SWAT team to provide active-shooter training for his officers.

Throughout his career, Chief Mayer has mentored countless police officers throughout Kentucky. He has been an ethical and moral leader and continues to set high standards for others to follow.


High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Award 2011 thumbnail image

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony