This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Atlanta A Future. Not a Past.

Atlanta field office Director’s Community Leadership Award 2011

Kaffie W. McCullough accepts the award on behalf of A Future. Not a Past.

The Atlanta Division is pleased to honor the A Future. Not a Past. campaign, which works to prevent the prostitution of children in Georgia.

Using groundbreaking research, the program addresses the issue of commercial sexual exploitation of minors through a four-tiered strategy of research, prevention, intervention, and education.

Along with partner entities, the campaign has pushed for tougher state laws to protect children. As a result of its efforts, a bill was passed last summer that ensures that traffickers who sexually exploit victims under the age of 18 will face penalties to include the possibility of life in prison and fines up to $100,000.

A Future. Not a Past. promotes community education and awareness through the use of social media and community events, including a 5K run. Last June, the Outdoor Advertising Association of Georgia donated billboards to show public service announcements about penalties associated with child sexual exploitation.

High resolution image


FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA Award 2011 thumbnail image

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Las Vegas
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 

Read related story on 2011 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony