Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2010 Springfield, IL
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Springfield, IL

2010 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Springfield Peter Rankaitis
Peter Rankaitis

As the executive director of Project Oz, a youth service agency representing central Illinois, Peter Rankaitis endeavors to keep troubled youth from being sent to out-of-state institutions.

Mr. Rankaitis started Project Oz in 1973 and has worked since then to develop McLean County’s first emergency placement network for youth, as well as street outreach to homeless youth, transitional housing programs, and a youth gang intervention program. 

Currently, Mr. Rankaitis remains committed to helping youth work out their problems in the context of their everyday lives. He leads several youth service task forces and service networks and is active in policy development at the local and state levels.

Under his leadership, Project Oz has been recognized at the local, state, and national level. It recently received the Executive Leadership Award of Excellence from the National Network for Youth.

High resolution image

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders
DCLA 2010

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- Denver
- Detroit
- El Paso
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles
- Louisville
- Memphis

- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
New Haven
- New Orleans
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk

- Oklahoma City
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Pittsburgh
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- San Juan
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field
Office of Public Affairs 1 | 2 | 3

Read related story on 2010 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony