Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2008 Minneapolis, MN
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Minneapolis, MN

2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Minneapolis Erika Binger
Board of Directors
The McKnight Foundation
Director Mueller and Erika Binger

Erika Binger is the chair of the board of Directors of The McKnight Foundation, Minnesota’s largest private philanthropic charitable organization. Ms. Binger’s determination to help people realize their potential and fulfill their dreams has fundamentally contributed to the betterment of Minnesota and, in turn, the FBI. According to the mission statement of The McKnight Foundation, the organization “seeks to improve the quality of life for present and future generations. Through grants, coalitions, and strategic policy reform, we use resources to attend, unite, and empower those we serve.”

The McKnight Foundation, since its inception in 1953, has disbursed over $93 million in grants. The Foundation has a long and distinguished reputation in Minnesota for accountability, innovation, integrity, passion, quality, and respect. “We are strongest when we come together” is the passion behind The McKnight Foundation and Erika Binger’s leadership. Kate Wolford, President of The McKnight Foundation stated: “Here at home in Minnesota—where the majority of McKnight’s funds for 2007 were disbursed—we are at our best when we pursue shared goals by leveraging the knowledge and resources of our partners such as nonprofits, other foundations, government, and the business community. In fact, Minnesota’s future economic competitiveness and our common good depends on our finding solutions to complicated issues together.”

Today, about half of the state’s children are unprepared for kindergarten. Racial and ethnic minority groups that play key roles in the present and future workforce are hampered by alarming education gaps. That is why in 2007, McKnight spent $6.5 million—including support for the statewide Early Childhood Initiative, led by the six Minnesota Initiative Foundations—to help prepare Minnesota’s youngest to enter kindergarten ready to learn. The Foundation also channeled over $5 million to more than 100 organizations providing high quality programs for children and youth during the many hours spent outside the classroom. The collaborative, community-centered goals of Erika Binger and the financial support of The McKnight Foundation to fulfill those goals has a direct impact on the quality of life in Minnesota.

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Clarksburg
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- El Paso
- Headquarters | 2 | 3 | 4
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles

- Memphis
- Miami
- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field

Read related story on 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony