This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Miami, FL

2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Miami Handy, Inc.
Director Mueller and Handy, Inc.

Handy, Inc. is a non-profit 501 (c)(3) organization founded in 1985 to meet the fundamental needs of Broward County’s Foster Care Children. This organization provides comprehensive direct service programs to ensure healthy childhood development by meeting emergency needs for food, clothing, and beds. In addition to this, Handy, Inc. also provides educational, recreational, and social programs for these children in an effort to assist them with independent living skills.

Several initiatives have been spawned by this organization. The Children’s Emergency Needs Program is a temporary measure that can keep a family together until family
services counselors can evaluate their circumstances and identify an alternate source
of assistance. Summer Residential Camp is a part of Handy, Inc.’s Life Program that
affords youth an opportunity to attend Summer Camp at Caruth Camp, located in Ingles, Florida. Academic and Vocational Scholarships is a program that awards academic and vocational scholarships to children who have been placed under court supervision.

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Clarksburg
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- El Paso
- Headquarters | 2 | 3 | 4
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles

- Memphis
- Miami
- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field

Read related story on 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony