This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.


2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Headquarters Clear Channel Outdoor
Director Mueller and representatives of Clear Channel

Clear Channel Outdoor began doing business as Foster & Kleiser Outdoor Advertising
in 1901. Walter Foster and George Kleiser were pioneers in outdoor advertising, and they have been recognized for propelling the industry from simple posters pasted onto available surfaces to standardized structures. In 1995, the company became Eller Media Co., and then in 1997, it was purchased by Clear Channel Communications, which also purchased Universal Outdoor that same year. Eller Media and Universal Outdoor were combined under the ownership of Clear Channel Communications, and that combination provided over 88,000 displays in 33 major U.S. markets. The name Clear Channel Outdoor started in 2001.

Clear Channel is now the world’s largest outdoor advertiser with over 800,000 out-of-home displays. The company also has become a leader in other media by operating 1,225 radio stations in the U.S., 240 international radio stations, 37 television stations, and more than 900 international websites. Clear Channel Outdoor is now the world’s largest concert promoter.

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Clarksburg
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- El Paso
- Headquarters | 2 | 3 | 4
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles

- Memphis
- Miami
- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field

Read related story on 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony