Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2008 Dallas, TX
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Dallas, TX

2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Dallas Society of Former Special Agents
Director Mueller and Society of Former Special Agents

The Dallas Chapter of the Society of Former Special Agents (SFSA) is dedicated to supporting and enhancing its relationship with the FBI by offering contacts, liaison, and information. The SFSA continues a tradition of partnering with the Dallas Division to serve as an intelligence base to assist with investigative work undertaken by the FBI. The Dallas Chapter established, and in 2008 awarded, the fourth annual Robert Gemberling Award to recognize the Dallas Division's "Investigator of the Year." This award was named in honor of the highly respected former Special Agent Robert P. (Bob) Gemberling. The recipient of the Gemberling Award is an agent who has performed his or her duties in an outstanding manner, and who has upheld the FBI's motto of Fidelity, Bravery, and Integrity.

The Dallas Chapter of the SFSA promotes the image of the FBI though acts of philanthropy including volunteerism at the Byron Nelson Golf Tournament. Proceeds from this tournament are used to assist "at risk" teenagers and other charitable efforts as directed through the Dallas Salesmanship Club. The SFSA also supports the North Texas community by volunteering at the Dallas White Rock Marathon. Proceeds from this race assist the Texas Scottish Rite Hospital for Children. The SFSA is a longtime contributor to the Assist the Officer Foundation, which provides assistance to police officers and their families who are stricken in the line of duty or suffer a serious illness.

In 2008, SFSA was the driving force behind the creation and dedication of the FBI Dallas Division Museum. Established in the Dallas Field Office, this museum serves to inform and educate current FBI employees and visitors to the Division about the history of the FBI with a special emphasis on Dallas FBI accomplishments. Much of the documentation of the FBI's history was provided by SFSA Dallas Chapter members in the form of documents, publications, and photographs from personal collections. Additionally, in 2008, the Dallas Chapter of the SFSA initiated production of a video commemorating the 100th anniversary of the FBI. Upon completion, the proceeds realized from this account of the Bureau's history will be distributed to charitable organizations determined by SFSA membership.

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Clarksburg
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- El Paso
- Headquarters | 2 | 3 | 4
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles

- Memphis
- Miami
- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field

Read related story on 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony