Home About Us Partnerships and Outreach Community Outreach DCLA 2008 Anchorage, AK
This is archived material from the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) website. It may contain outdated information and links may no longer function.

Anchorage, AK

2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards

Anchorage Mao Tosi
Pride Club of Anchorage
Mao Tosi

The Pride Club, an after-school program for at-risk teenagers, was founded in 2006 by Mao Tosi, a former NFL player. The club was formed in response to escalating gang violence marked by drive-by shootings in mall parking lots. Mr. Tosi founded the club while working as a security guard at West High School in Anchorage. Today, Mr. Tosi is involved full-time with the organization.

The Pride Club stresses the importance of studying and maintaining good grades. If the teenagers who participate in the Pride Club allow their grades to fall, they lose certain club privileges. Members spend two to three hours a day at the club. Mr. Tosi picks up members in his car and brings them to places like the Fairview Recreation Center for basketball or just “hanging out.” Carol Comeau, Anchorage School District Superintendent, praises Mr. Tosi’s efforts to reach out to the students in an effort to combat gang and street crime in Anchorage. Mr. Tosi is also a Citizens’ Academy alumnus and member of the Safe Streets Task Force.

FBI Director Recognizes
Distinguished Community Leaders

In a ceremony at FBI Headquarters, Director Robert S. Mueller, III recognized the recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award. These leaders, selected by their area FBI field office, have demonstrated outstanding contributions to their local communities through service. The FBI is grateful for the work of each of these individuals and organizations on behalf of their communities.

“Whatever the motivation—an unfilled need, a tragic occurrence, a desire to give back—these are people who make things happen and enlist others in their cause,” said Director Mueller. “They are activists who have earned their prestige through good works.”

Recipients of the 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Award include:

- Albany
- Albuquerque
- Anchorage
- Atlanta
- Baltimore
- Birmingham
- Boston
- Buffalo
- Charlotte
- Chicago
- Cincinnati
- Clarksburg
- Cleveland
- Columbia
- Dallas
- El Paso
- Headquarters | 2 | 3 | 4
- Honolulu
- Houston
- Indianapolis
- Jackson
- Jacksonville
- Kansas City
- Knoxville
- Little Rock
- Los Angeles

- Memphis
- Miami
- Milwaukee
- Minneapolis
- Mobile
- New Haven
- New York
- Newark
- Norfolk
- Omaha
- Philadelphia
- Phoenix
- Portland
- Richmond
- Sacramento
- Salt Lake City
- San Antonio
- San Diego
- San Francisco
- Seattle
- Springfield
- St. Louis
- Tampa
- Washington Field

Read related story on 2008 Director’s Community Leadership Awards ceremony